Previous Page | Next Page

Encoding for NLS

Standards Organizations for NLS Encodings

Encodings that are supported by SAS are defined by the following standards organizations:

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

promotes the development of standardization and related activities to facilitate the free flow of goods and services between nations and to advocate for the exchange of intellectual, scientific, and technological information. ISO also establishes standards for encodings.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)

coordinates voluntary standards and conformity to those standards in the United States. ANSI works with ISO to establish global standards.

Unicode Consortium

that develops and promotes the Unicode standard, which provides a unique number for every character.

Previous Page | Next Page | Top of Page